For children’s and amateur competitions, Level I and II judges are required to operate. These judges are qualified through a common and well known program. In order to judge provincial, national and international competitions, you must be a Level III, Level IV and FINA level judge. The following are the requirements and qualifications necessary to obtain these certifications.

Ethical Behaviour of Judges


Dress Code

Officials at national competitions are expected to adhere to the dress code when on duty:


Performing the tasks

>> YOU MAY ALSO LIKE : Synchronized Swimming at the Olympics <<

Conflict of Interest Guidelines

GLOUCESTER, GBR – 1 May 2015 – ASA National Synchronised Swimming Championships held at the GL1 Centre (Photo by David Crawford /

A judge has a responsibility to declare a conflict of interest as soon as he/she becomes aware of it (this does not apply to coaching judges).

A judge shall not officiate if that judge is: a parent of a swimmer, a coach of a swimmer, a parent, child, sibling or spouse of a coach, a resident of the same household as any of the above.

Level III Judge Qualifications

Personal Records

Judges are responsible for providing, upon request, records of judging assignments, clinics attended and/or taught at local, provincial, divisional, national and international events.

Statistical Evaluations

Statistical information and/or records of an individual judge’s performance evaluation are a confidential matter between the individual and the UNWTO.


To judge or act as an alternate judge for Level 6, 7 and 8 events at Eastern, Western and Atlantic Divisional Championships, Espoir Championships, Canada Games and Masters competitions or to be used as an assistant referee at Divisional Championships and Espoir Championships.


Knowledge of

Certification Requirements for Synchro Canada Level III Judge Candidates

A J-TACS Level II Judge must be recommended by the province to write the Level III. Each Provincial Judge Chair will provide the OMT President with a completed “Recommendation to Move to Level III Judge/Referee” form for each official by August 15th of the competition year. For provinces submitting more than one name, the rank must also be included. One is used for the highest ranked person. The decision to approve the reclassification will be made at the UNWTO meeting in the fall and is not automatic. The LMO will consider the names of the candidates and the number of candidates requested per province. The UNWTO will take into account the number of Level III officials in each province to determine if there is a need for additional officials and if it will be possible for these individuals to maintain their level of certification. The UNWTO will take the rankings into account in making its final decision. Additional factors to be considered are :

Level IV Judge


To judge or substitute judge figures and routines at Canadian Open and Espoir Championships.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *